/* ]]> */

La Vuelta Espana 2010


La Vuelta Espana 2010

La Vuelta Espana 2010

La Vuelta Espana / Tour of Spain is an annual bicycle race that covers more than 3,500 kilometres (2,200mi) throughout Spain and a bordering country. The race usually lasts 23 days and attracts cyclists from around the world. The race is broken down into day-long segments, called stages. Individual times to finish each stage are totalled to determine the overall winner for the race. The rider with the least elapsed time each day wears a yellow jersey. The course changes every year but it has always finished in Madrid.

The La Vuelta Espana 2010 was held from August 28 to September 19 and was won by Vincenzo Nibali. The race began in Seville and ended, as is tradition, in Madrid.

The La Vuelta Espana 2010 covered 3,333.8 km (2,071.5 mi). There was critical analysis that this Vuelta, which commemorates the 75th anniversary of the first edition of the race, was an especially difficult one and that stage 16 was the queen stage.

The stage 1 team time trial was held at night.

Vuelta runner-up Ezequiel Mosquera and Xacobeo-Galicia teammate David Garcia were announced on September 30 to have given positive tests for hydroxyethyl starch during the race,[3] a substance which is known as a masking agent for erythropoietin (EPO). Garcia later was announced to have tested positive for EPO during the race as well.


La Vuelta Espana 2010 – Route map and Stages

In 2010, La Vuelta Espana will be celebrating its 75h Anniversary.

Over these past 75 years, the world and cycling have changed a great deal. That first edition held 75 years ago had 14 stages, almost all of which were over 250 kms long. What is to be the 75th “Platinum” edition will have 21 stages averaging 170 kms. A considerable difference aimed at being a spectacular event with shorter stages and fast-paced dashes to the finish line.

And the show will be getting off to a start in Seville, against the backdrop of the La Maestranza Bullring. On August 28th, a Vuelta as none ever before will be getting under way. A night-time team time trial through Seville’s most emblematic areas will be welcoming racers, sponsors, technical personnel and numerous spectators gathering to once again follow this excitingly vibrant events of three-week Spanish race.

Six summit finishes, two of which are newcomers to La Vuelta, will be crowding fans along the shoulders of the roads to greet the passing peloton. Xorret del Catí, where Alejandro Valverde earned himself the yellow jersey last year, Andorra’s Pal Pass, Peña Cabarga, which will be on the course for
the second time, and Lagos de Covadonga will all be providing the enjoyment of great finishes just as in the past. The new finishing points in Cotobello in Asturias and the “Bola del Mundo” in Madrid, will be joining in with these icons to make the history of La Vuelta a España even greater yet.

Other heart-stopping finishes will be at the finish in Malaga with its Gibralfaro Castle, in Murcia with the Cresta del Gallo a few short kilometers from the finish line, Vilanova i la Geltrú in Catalunya with the new Rat Penat climb. All of these finishes, in conjunction with the 46-kilometer time trial in the homeland of the Ribera del Duero wineries will be shaping a Vuelta which – if last year’s edition amazed us – promises not to leave anyone indifferent.


La Vuelta Espana 2010 – Route map and Stages

From August 28th to September 19th 21 stages Total Kms. roughly 3.337,9 kms.

Sevilla – Sevilla (ITT)

Alcalá de Guadaíra – Marbella

Marbella – Málaga

Málaga – Valdepeñas de Jaén

Guadix – Lorca

Caravaca de Cruz – Murcia – Thursday September 2nd
Celebrating its Jubilee Year, Caravaca de la Cruz, although already familiar a finishing point, will be the starting point for this stage which will once again finish in Murcia as it did in 2009. The highly well-known, spectacular Cresta del Gallo will be the surprise somewhat over ten kilometers from the finish line.
Although this stage does not promise to be complicated, it is the second shortest stage, and the famous Cresta del Gallo climb, so near the finish line, will be complicating the approach for the sprinters, who will be vying to make a place for themselves in this stage’s breakaway for the finish line.

Murcia – Orihuela – Friday September 3rd
We leave Murcia, a locality with a great deal of experience in La Vuelta, for Orihuela, hosting the stage finish for the first time in La Vuelta. The Orihuela stage will comprise part of the many events which will be held in celebration of the 100th Anniversary of the birth of Miguel Hernández. The first week of the race winds up with a day which would theoretically seem well-suited to sprinters, as it has only one cat 3 climb at km. 112, known as the “Alto de Hondón de los Frailes.

Villena – Xorret del Catí – Saturday September 4th
We arrive at the mountain in Alicante where Alejandro Valverde took the lead to then finally win the race. Travelling from newcomer Villena to Xorret del Catí on La Vuelta’s fifth visit to this summit finish line. The last four were a magnificent spectacle on the part of the racers. Five mountain passes mark the course leading up to the final climb: A cat 3, the Onil Pass, which made a name for itself in 2009, and three cat 2 climbs, the famous Tudons, Carrasqueta and Torremanzanas Passes.

Calpe – Alcoy – Sunday September 5th
Second stage of this mountain duo in the Autonomous Community of Valencia, totaling 187 kilometers with six mountain passes: two cat 3 and four cat 2 climbs. All well-known in the peloton, guaranteeing a real event in the stage with the most mountain passes i n the entire 2010 Vuelta.
Calpe, which had not hosted a stage start since 1973, will be doing so this time with all eyes on the stage ending in Alcoy that may be reconfirming the changes that Corret del Catí leaves us in the general classification.

Day off

Tarragona – Vilanova i la Geltrú

Vilanova i la Geltrú – Andorra (Vallnord / sector Pal)

Andorra la Vella – Lleida

Rincón de Soto – Burgos

Burgos – Peña Cabarga

Solares – Lagos de Covadonga

Gijón – Cotobello

Day off

Peñafiel – Peñafiel (ITT)

Valladolid – Salamanca

Piedrahita – Toledo

San Martín de Valdeiglesias

Bola del MundoEtapa 7 Estrellas Comunidad de Madrid

San Sebastián de los Reyes – Madrid